Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Sanibel Cafe, One Ball Wonders fighting to stay out of 8-Ball Pool League's basement

February 9, 2011
Special to the REPORTER

Bunt’s Ball Busters took another step closer to a three-peat with an 11-5 pounding of Sanibel Café. The Ball Busters have won the league championship for the past two years.

Terry Ricotta, Dave Doane, and Bob Buntrock had three wins each for the Ball Busters. Only Sanibel Café’s John Earle managed to win more than one for his team. Sanibel Café now is only one game in front of the surging One Ball Wonders in their battle for the League’s cellar.

Fresh Legion Crew Captain Tom Hensel led his team to a 9-7 win over the One Ball Wonders with three victories over Richie Demas. Doc Lubinski and Gator Gates had two wins each for the Legion Crew.

The One Ball Wonders led in the match 5-3 on the strength of three wins by Jimbo Gaubatz and two wins by Kelly Greten. The Wonders then managed only two wins out of the remaining eight games with Captain Kip Buntrock losing two to Gator Gates.

The League’s Singles Tournament will be held on Monday night, March 13. Entry fee is $20. Signed up players competing in the tournament, to date are Terry Ricotta, Bob Buntrock, Butch Bouchard, John Earle, Rich McCurry, Tom Hensel, Joe Stahl, Rich Ennis, Dennis Bender, Jack Dalton and Doug Conaway. Prize money goes to the top six players.

Fact Box


Current Standings
Place Team Won Lost
Second FRESH LEGION CREW 144 128
Third SANIBEL CAFE 122 150
Fourth ONE BALL WONDERS 121 151

Results from Feb. 7
• Bunt’s Ball Busters 11, Sanibel Café 5
• Fresh Legion Crew 9, One Ball Wonders 7



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web