Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Lee Memorial elects 2014 board officers

February 19, 2014
Special to the Reporter ( , Island Reporter, Captiva Current, Sanibel-Captiva Islander

Lee Memorial Health System is pleased to announce the newly elected officers of its board of directors for 2014.

Sanford N. Cohen, M.D., will serve as board chairman. He is former chair of the Pediatrics Department at Wayne State University School of Medicine and chief of Pediatrics for the Children's Hospital of Michigan. He also served as dean and the university's provost before retiring as a professor. Cohen served as a captain in the U.S. Army Medical Corps at Walter Reed Army Medical Center and has an extensive history of community involvement in pediatric health care issues and research organizations.

Chris Hansen will serve as vice chairman. He is a lifelong resident of Lee County with a degree in Emergency Medical Technology from Edison State College. Hansen retired as deputy director of Lee County Public Safety & Chief of EMS after nearly 30-years in public service and health care. He is owner of and lead instructor at Safeguard Academy, LLC, and an ordained elder with City Gate Ministries. Hansen is a former member of the Lee Board of County Commissioners Community Sustainability Advisory Committee, and the Florida Department of Health Public Health and Medical Preparedness Strategic Planning Oversight Team.

Article Photos

Sanford N. Cohen, M.D. PHOTO PROVIDED.

David F. Collins is this year's treasurer. He has been a mortgage banker for over twenty years and has served as a board member for PACE Center for Girls of Lee County, and as treasurer for the PACE Capital Campaign. Collins has also taken part in the Executive Leadership Team for American Heart Association Heart Walk and was an AHA Red Tie Society Member.

Diane Champion will once again serve as board secretary. Champion is a retired travel agent and real estate professional. She has served as committee chair for children's activities of the American Cancer Society's Relay for Life event, and is a former elected member of the Community Council of Lehigh Acres as well as a Lee County meet and greet volunteer for Southwest Regional Airport.

"We appreciate the officers' level of involvement and we are thankful to have such an accomplished group working to further our commitment to provide the highest quality care," says Jim Nathan, president of Lee Memorial Health System.

The board of directors' primary goal is to carry out the mission and vision of Lee Memorial Health System. It consists of ten officials, from five districts, who are elected by the people of Lee County in staggered four year terms. The board holds regularly scheduled public meetings to set goals and objectives and to hear recommendations from the system's administrative and medical staffs. The public is encouraged to attend.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web