Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Historical Village elects officers at annual meeting

March 24, 2014
Special to the Reporter ( , Island Reporter, Captiva Current, Sanibel-Captiva Islander

The Sanibel Historical Museum and Village held its annual meeting recently. Members voted to re-elect board members Dorothy Donaldson and Karl Rodman to three-year terms. New board members elected were Sally Duffy, Gail Migliorini, and James Clivie Goodwin, also to three-year terms. They join present board members Debbie Staley, Janet Halliday, Bill Bachman, Alan Lessack, Paula Newton, and Ellen O'Neill. This brings the total number of board members to 11, up from nine.

At a special board meeting following the annual meeting, the board elected officers as follows: Dorothy Donaldson, president; Karl Rodman, vice president; Debbie Staley, treasurer; and Jan Halliday, secretary. Officers serve one-year terms, and historically the vice president has succeeded the president.

The museum is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year. It began in 1984 in one house -- the Rutland house -- and was called the Islands Historical Museum. A 30th anniversary party will take place March 20 beginning at 6 p.m. on the village grounds.

The historical village is open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Wednesdays through Saturdays. The village is located at 950 Dunlop Road (next to BIG ARTS). Admission is $10 for adults 18 and older; those under 18 and members are free. Docent-guided tours are available at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. at no extra charge, based upon docent availability. There is handicap access to all buildings. Admission for entrance to the Gift Shop only is free. For information, call 472-4648 during business hours or visit



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web