Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Subject Area Teachers of the Year announced

April 21, 2014
Island Reporter, Captiva Current, Sanibel-Captiva Islander

The School District of Lee County has announced its outstanding Subject Area Teachers of the Year, selected for the 2013-2014 school year:

* Athletic Director: David Burns Fort Myers High


Middle: Dr. Denise Fitzpatrick Fort Myers Middle Academy

High: Laurie Metz Dunbar High

* Career/Technical Education:

Middle: Alesha VanDevender Oak Hammock Middle

High: Roseanne Perez Island Coast High

Post-secondary: Judy Smith Fort Myers Institute of Technology

* Dance/Drama: Kea Fernandez Oak Hammock Middle (Drama)

* Driver Education: Maureen Cannon Cypress Lake High

* English Language Arts:

Elementary: Joelle Beverly Bayshore Elementary

Middle: Cynthia Stirns Cypress Lake Middle

High: Teresa Nitting Ida S. Baker High

* Environmental Education:

Elementary: Jamie VanCleve Patriot Elementary

Middle: Rick Tully Staff Development/James Stephens International Academy

High: Joseph Mallon Island Coast High


Mary Palacios Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle

* Exceptional Student Education:

Pre K: Sunny Lichtenberg Orangewood Elementary

Elementary: Tammy Englund Orange River Elementary

Middle: Steve Funnell Hospital/Homebound

High: Rita Ellis Buckingham Exceptional Center

* Gifted:

Kathleen Donelan Challenger Middle

* Health Education:

Middle: Kathryn Reynolds Challenger Middle

High: Kris Hayward Riverdale High

* Instructional Technology:

Elementary: Ivette Orama Three Oaks Elementary

Secondary: Nancy Foley Estero High

* JROTC: Major (Retired) Gordon J. Rodell Ida S. Baker High

* Mathematics:

Elementary: Amber Deming Bayshore Elementary

Middle School: Barbara Scarnato Bonita Springs Middle Center for the Arts

Michelle Mars Trafalgar Middle (tie)

High School: Phillip Savage Dunbar High

* Media Specialist:

Elementary: Amy McGinley River Hall Elementary

Secondary: Katharine (Kathy) Adams Diplomat Middle

* Music:

Elementary: Rebecca Ickstadt Orange River Elementary

Middle: Matthew (Matt) Murrell Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle (Band)

High:James Samz Mariner High (Band)

* Physical Education:

Elementary: Morgan Wright J. Colin English Elementary

Middle:Jonathan Edward Veterans Park Academy for the Arts

High: Alberta (Ali) Fabbro Estero High

* Psychologist:

Karen Friebel Psychological Services

* Reading:

Elementary: Leslie Mikell Gulf Elementary

Middle: Helen Thompson Challenger Middle

High: Kimberly Conn Ida S. Baker High

* School Counselor:

Elementary: Jan Moretti Bayshore Elementary

Middle: Jeffrey Becker Harns Marsh Middle

High: Harriett Henderson Dunbar High

* School Nurse: Gabrielle Camarda Health Services/Lehigh Acres Middle

* School Social Worker: Linda Cancel Student Welfare and Attendance

* Science:


Alison Ackerman Bayshore Elementary

Middle: Dr. Charles O'Connor Lexington Middle

High: Misty Neal Gousby Lehigh Senior High

* Social Studies:


Patricia Pietkiewicz San Carlos Elementary

Middle: Brandee Summerall North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts

High: Amanda (Mandie) Rainwater Cypress Lake High

* Speech Pathologist: LeeAnn Knapp Tortuga Preserve Elementary

* World Languages: Idamis Alejandro Tice Elementary

* Visual Arts:

Elementary: Susan Sweetland Heights Elementary


Kellen Mills Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle

Source: School District of Lee County



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web