Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Subject Area Teachers of the Year announced

April 21, 2014
Special to the Reporter ( , Island Reporter, Captiva Current, Sanibel-Captiva Islander

The School District of Lee County has announced its outstanding Subject Area Teachers of the Year, selected for the 2013-2014 school year:

* Athletic Director: David Burns from Fort Myers High

* AVID: Dr. Denise Fitzpatrick from Fort Myers Middle Academy and Laurie Metz from Dunbar High

* Career/Technical Education: Alesha VanDevender from Oak Hammock Middle, Roseanne Perez from Island Coast High, and Judy Smith from Fort Myers Institute of Technology

* Dance/Drama: Kea Fernandez from Oak Hammock Middle (Drama)

* Driver Education: Maureen Cannon from Cypress Lake High

* English Language Arts: Joelle Beverly from Bayshore Elementary, Cynthia Stirns from Cypress Lake Middle, and Teresa Nitting Ida S. Baker High

* Environmental Education: Jamie VanCleve from Patriot Elementary, Rick Tully from Staff Development/James Stephens International Academy, and Joseph Mallon Island Coast High

* ESOL: Mary Palacios from Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle

* Exceptional Student Education: Sunny Lichtenberg from Orangewood Elementary, Tammy Englund from Orange River Elementary, Steve Funnell Hospital/Homebound, and Rita Ellis Buckingham Exceptional Center

* Gifted: Kathleen Donelan from Challenger Middle

* Health Education: Kathryn Reynolds from Challenger Middle and Kris Hayward from Riverdale High

* Instructional Technology: Ivette Orama from Three Oaks Elementary and Nancy Foley from Estero High

* JROTC: Major (Retired) Gordon J. Rodell from Ida S. Baker High

* Mathematics: Amber Deming from Bayshore Elementary, Barbara Scarnato from Bonita Springs Middle Center for the Arts, Michelle Mars from Trafalgar Middle (tie), and Phillip Savage from Dunbar High

* Media Specialist: Amy McGinley from River Hall Elementary and Katharine (Kathy) Adams from Diplomat Middle

* Music: Rebecca Ickstadt from Orange River Elementary, Matthew (Matt) Murrell from Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle (Band), and James Samz Mariner High (Band)

* Physical Education: Morgan Wright from J. Colin English Elementary, Jonathan Edward from Veterans Park Academy for the Arts, Alberta (Ali) Fabbro from Estero High

* Psychologist: Karen Friebel from Psychological Services

* Reading: Leslie Mikell from Gulf Elementary, Helen Thompson from Challenger Middle, and Kimberly Conn from Ida S. Baker High

* School Counselor: Jan Moretti from Bayshore Elementary, Jeffrey Becker from Harns Marsh Middle, and Harriett Henderson from Dunbar High

* School Nurse: Gabrielle Camarda from Health Services/Lehigh Acres Middle

* School Social Worker: Linda Cancel from Student Welfare and Attendance

* Science: Alison Ackerman from Bayshore Elementary, Dr. Charles O'Connor from Lexington Middle, and Misty Neal Gousby from Lehigh Senior High

* Social Studies: Patricia Pietkiewicz from San Carlos Elementary, Brandee Summerall from North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts, and Amanda (Mandie) Rainwater from Cypress Lake High

* Speech Pathologist: LeeAnn Knapp from Tortuga Preserve Elementary

* World Languages: Idamis Alejandro from Tice Elementary

* Visual Arts: Susan Sweetland from Heights Elementary andSubject Area Teachers of the Year announced Kellen Mills from Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle

Source: School District of Lee County



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web